seasons

fall-winter-spring-summer / all taken within 2013
For those of you who are close to me, you know I’ve been going through a few rough things since 2014 started.
For those of you who aren’t close to me, now you know!
As it begins to warm up (and stay that way..please, Jesus!), I’ve been thinking about the changing of seasons.
I’m so thankful to have grown up in the Midwest because I’m truly (almost painfully) aware of the seasons.
Like most girls, I love autumn. It’s full of football games, apple cider, the changing of leaves, cute clothes, and the best weather all year.
Winter is long+freezing, but gloriously breathtaking.
Spring is fresh, alive and full of the promise of new opportunities, and the smell of flowers blooming and green grass growing.
And summer is hot and long, but a time to adventure, take on new challenges, and a time to feel the sun on my face again.
The season I’m currently in is difficult. It’s painful and lonely sometimes. It’s drawing a lot out of me, forcing me to ask myself tough questions and ask for more help; it’s showing me that truly all I have is God and I must recognize that He is all I need.
It’s probably been one of the roughest seasons of my life these last couple months, but the cool thing is that it’s just a season.
I know it will only last for a little bit of time in the grand scheme of a lifetime, and then onto the next season.
I must appreciate the pain of a difficult season to enjoy the absolute joy of a fun season.
In order to see the faithfulness of God, and continue to grow, the difficult seasons are necessary. In the same way that a tree must be pruned and dead branches must be sawed off, so it is with us. The things in our lives that we don’t need, that don’t grow us closer to the end goal, must be cut off.
And I will rejoice.
Praise God that He knows and gives us the things that we need and not just what we want.
As I work through the junk, feel a whole range of emotions, and continue to press forward, I will make the most of this season. If I rush to get through it, what’s the point? So as I continue to grow and feel the growing pains, I will remember and rejoice in the fact that it’s a season. And God is in the middle of it.
He’s in my winters and in my summers. He’s in my springs, my autumns, and my in-betweens!
He’s in the midst of the most beautiful day and in the gloomiest, and deserves praise for both.
takeaway:
Today may be the hardest day of your life or the easiest, and neither makes God any less or more present.
“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens..” | Ecclesiastes 3:1
“He has made everything beautiful in its time.” | Ecclesiastes 3:11 [emphasis added]
“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” | Romans 8:18
One thought on “seasons

  1. Hang In there Ana…Judging by your words, your insights, your attitude, you are on the track which will lead you to a place of peace, and if NOT, keep holding on. Eventually, the seasons do Change:)

Leave a Reply

