part 2

this is a part of a series, to read my first post, click here.

Okay, so I am a very practical person, so for me, seeking out God’s heart on issues of injustice involves practicality. One of the ways I am CHOOSING to stand in the gap for my brothers and sisters facing injustice all around the world, is by biking/running 100 miles in 100 days along with a group in Rockford, and hundreds of people across the United States and the world for Venture Expeditions. It sounds crazy, I know, but in the light of the pain and suffering so many are going through, is it really that crazy?

At first glance, I think these types of things mean nothing. Sure, I’m raising $100 for Venture Expeditions to pay for meals for refugee children in Burma. That’s really freakin’ cool. But to me, money is usually an “easy” problem solver. No, I am not rich, I am a 20 year-old college student with a minimum wage job. I’m just saying, it’s so much easier to see suffering, write a check, and then move on with your life. I feel like actually being a part of something, meeting those in suffering, speaking with those in suffering — that’s where the change happens.

Regardless, sending money to different non-profit organizations sure helps a whole lot.

That is why I am biking/running 100 miles for Venture Expeditions. I am doing something about the problem. And as I bike or run, I pray. I cry. I pray and cry for these individuals who will receive the meals that my money is going toward. It may not feel like much, but I know this is one practical way that God has called me to stand in the gap.

And you know what? Donating money is still doing something.
So is biking 100 miles.

Both of those things sure beat sitting in my room wondering why the world isn’t a better place.

Something really cool I felt like the Lord was speaking on my bike ride today was, “It’s much harder to bike uphill with the wind going against you.”

Many of you are probably thinking, “duh.” But when we are here fighting injustices all around the world, it really feels like an uphill battle. And an uphill battle sure is hard when the wind is against you too. Just remember, that there comes a point on a hill that you are no longer climbing it, but you’ve reached the top and are on your way down. There are times when abolishing slavery, feeding starving children, providing quality education to children in low-income areas, and keeping homeless people out of the cold will feel a lot like uphill battles. Keep fighting, because at some point, it will no longer be uphill and instead of a headwind, it’ll be a tailwind.

“That is the way I run, with a clear goal in mind. That is the way I fight, not like someone shadow boxing.” 1 Corinthians 9:26 (ISV)

If you are interested in donating to Venture Expeditions Rockford 100 Mile Challenge before November 8, visit this page and in the blank that says “This donation is on behalf of ____” write my name! Any amount is appreciated. Thank you for your generosity!

[ Figuring out God’s view of injustice isn’t over, stay tuned for more posts. ]

One thought on “part 2

Leave a Reply

